Kicking The Flu With Delicious Food!

I posted “‘Curing’ the Common Cold” about a week ago when I thought I had a slight cold….well, turns out I had the flu.  Yesterday was my first day without a fever and I actually felt a lot better, but I decided to take today off of work because whenever I get sick I tend to do too much right away and get sick again so I decided to learn from my mistakes.

Anyhow, I felt much better and I believe what Andrew and I ate for dinner helped.  They say chicken noodle soup really does help get rid of the common cold. This article from the NY Times points out one of the reasons why it might:

http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2007/10/12/the-science-of-chicken-soup/?_r=0

just to name one.

I did not have Chicken Noodle Soup for dinner by the way.  I actually made chicken in the crock pot (with Andrew’s help because I felt like I could hardly move).  I’m not one for measuring so I can’t give you exact measurements but here’s what we did…

Into the crock pot went:

2 lbs Chicken (about)
Orange Juice
1 Chopped Onion
2 Fresh Garlic Cloves
1/2 of a Serrano Pepper
Rosemary and Thyme Spices

Directions:

Put the chicken into the crock pot, pour orange juice over it until the orange juice covers about 2/3 of the chicken, then sprinkle rosemary and thyme into the crock pot.  I put the crock pot on high for 4 hours (because I didn’t start until mid-day).  When Andrew got home, he cut up the onion, garlic, and serrano pepper and threw it in with about an two hours to go.

Conclusion

The chicken was fantastic! But the best part was the broth.  The broth is what made me feel amazing.  I didn’t want to drink it at first, but Andrew insisted it would make me feel better, and boy was he right! It felt great going down and I felt even better in the morning.  I have to make homemade broth more often!

I had tried everything, tea all day, orange juice, soup, including chicken noodle…nothing helped until we made this. But I think for now on, I’m going to remember to be good to my body again so I don’t get sick in the first place!

Leave a Reply

