The Early Bird Catches The Worm

It is amazing how much of a difference in mood you can get from waking up early.  I used to get depressed in the winter and would not want to get out of bed, not for anything.  Eventually, I was tired of feeling so sad and drained and I started making appointments at 7am to get myself to wake up at 6am, exercise early, and have a full day.  (This was when I was in college still so I had a lot more time on my hands).  The change in mood I felt was astronomical.  I felt a huge weight lift off of my shoulders, and eventually, I started waking up at 6am daily without trying to force it.

As I’ve said prior to this post, I had the flu for a couple of weeks.  I still have a cough after 3 weeks + and I hadn’t been able to get out of bed until 8am on any given day even when I’ve had to go to work.  I started feeling upset and stressed out, sad for no reason.  I realized I had to do something.  My first thought was eat healthier.  I used to eat so healthily and lately all I’ve eaten has been crap! Well, it was hard to get healthy meals together when I was waking up late, going to work, and getting home late.  The kitchen has been a mess, which completely kills motivation to even step foot in the kitchen so that was also against me.  The best I could do was microwaved veggies.  Yikes.

Luckily, last night must have been the breaking point for my body, brain, whatever..because this morning I woke up at 7am, the first day I was able to get up before 8am, and my head screamed out get out of bed and get in the shower NOW! And I did.  And it felt amazing, I feel like me again.  My mood has skyrocketed today, I feel great! And it really does make a difference, getting up early. It makes a difference having time to yourself, to plan, get ready, relax, get something done, just have extra time in general, see more daylight.  It makes a BIG difference.  I feel ready for the day, like it’s already going to be a success.

This morning I had time to get up, go get a coffee at Starbuckos (that’s what Andrew and I like to call it), talk to my neighbor for a bit, take the dog out, make a pomegranate (or rather take one apart), read some recipes, and get to work (almost) on time.  Luckily, where I work we don’t really have much of an “on time”.  We have flexible schedules so we can come in earlier or later, as long as we put in 9 hours a day (9/80 schedule).  Of course, we have “mandatory hours”; however, they aren’t very strict unless you really abuse the privilege.

But all that!  All that from waking up an hour earlier! And imagine if I go back to waking up two hours earlier! Then I can add in even more.  If that’s not enough for motivation, I don’t know what is. Maybe I’ll even be able to start putting up blog posts in the morning again. 😉    ….We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

